频率选择

这是系列博客文章中的第二篇,重点关注无线电源行业内需要做出的改变,以提供更好的终端用户体验。

调谐到无线电源的正确频率

作者:AirFuel谐振工作委员会主席兼WiTricity高级工程师Ky Sealy

我们正处于无线电源发展的重点时期 – 消费者对全天候连接的需求正在增长(在大量消费类设备中),但最终用户体验仍然有很大的不足。业界需要从第一代技术转向下一代技术,以解决我们所面临的困难,但这一转变的关键考虑因素是无线电源频率。

多年来,无线电源频率的唯一真正解决方案是100-200 kHz频段。这是因为使用替代的更高频率(例如6.78MHz)会受成本过高的限制。但随着硅基电源半导体的发展,以及氮化镓基半导体的商业化应用,情况已不再如此。相反,当为消费类电子设备使用更高频率时,实际上具有显著优势。那么,是什么阻碍了我们呢?

有关频率的错误信息

人们普遍认为,使用较低的频率将使监管审批更容易。这实际上是一个行业传说。虽然对不同频率的监管设计挑战可能不同,但在6.78 MHz处有一个特别指定的工业科学医疗(ISM)频段,这意味着对于指定的ISM设备(如无线电源系统),此频率的电磁辐射发射是无限的。 在6.78 MHz以下,迄今为止还没有其它全球接受的ISM频段,这表明进一步的监管限制可能适用于低频消费类无线电源设备。

另一个市场误解是较低的频率没有像高频那样的RF暴露问题或限制。 同样,情况并非如此。 在即将发布的文章中,我们将概述各种无线电源频率下的RF暴露要求的差异 – 敬请关注。

是时候换个新选择了

一旦我们克服了行业的误解,就可以更容易地为不断发展的消费类设备选择合适的频率。

如果我们真的希望所有具有无线电源的电子设备具有全球互操作性,那么Qi感应无线电力传输将实在是不够 – 需要6.78 MHz才能将我们提升到新的水平。原因较为简单:

  • 体验 – 使用6.78 MHz的消费类设备的磁共振无线电力(MRWP)传输提供了更大的空间自由度。使用传统的感应式无线充电,对准必须精确,以便于充电 – 另一方面,磁共振允许设备移动并仍然保持充电。例如,如果您正在为手机充电,这时您收到信息,则由于受到信息而产生的振动会导致手机失去对准并停止充电。这与您在驾车时为手机充电并在路上遇到颠簸时的情况相同。颠簸可能导致手机失去对准,手机将停止充电。然而,利用共振技术(更高频率),用户可以移动他们的设备或拥有多个设备,例如,同时充电,并且即使设备被移位,设备仍将充电。此外,磁共振允许通过诸如桌子和台式机之类的厚材料进行无线传输,因此无需钻入表面以获得真正的无线体验。这是用户体验方面的巨大转变。
  • 工业设计和形状因素 – 在6.78 MHz无线频率下,电子器件和线圈的尺寸变得更小和更薄,这为设计者提供了增加设计的可能。此外,可以使用无处不在的柔性印刷电路板材料来构建高质量的线圈,并且,您可以弯曲材料,拥有不同的产品外形,例如弯曲状。在较高频率下增加的品质因数还意味着共振线圈中的较低损耗和因此而具有的较高的耦合效率。
  • 监管 – 6.78 MHz是最低的全球通用频率,大多数(即便不是全部)区域监管机构将其视为ISM频率。全球和地方监管建议组织,如ITU-R1和宽带无线论坛2,也特别建议消费类设备的无线电源系统使用6.78 MHz频段。除了6.78 MHz提供的功能优势外,以此频率工作的无线电源系统不太可能干扰许可的无线电频段。
  • 安全性 – 与低频无线电源相比,在6.78 MHz下由磁场引起的金属物体加热可忽略不计。这意味着设备更安全,因为频率不会加热可能与之接触的日常物品,如钥匙、硬币等。

因此,具有MRWP的6.78 MHz频率在设计和用户体验方面提供了更大的自由度,并且,在开发消费类无线设备时,作为频率的首选,不应再忽视6.78 MHz频率。

 

有兴趣了解更多?

如果您想了解有关无线电源频率选择的更多信息,请发送电子邮件至:ky.sealy@witricity.com。 我们很乐意听取您的意见,并分享我们为提供下一代无线电源所做的工作。

Frequency Choice

This is the second in a series of blog posts focused on changes needed within the wireless power industry to deliver a better end-user experience.

Tuning into the Right Frequency for Wireless Power

by Ky Sealy, Head of AirFuel Resonant Working Committee & Senior Engineer at WiTricity

We’re at an interesting time in the evolution of wireless power – consumer demand for round-the-clock connectivity is growing (across a vast array of consumer devices), yet the end-user experience still leaves a great deal to be desired. The industry needs to move from first-generation to next-generation technologies to tackle the limitations we’re facing, but a key consideration in that shift is wireless power frequency.

For years, the only real solution for wireless power frequencies was the 100-200 kHz frequency band. This was because using alternative, higher frequencies such as 6.78 MHz was cost prohibitive. But with the advancement in silicon-based power semiconductors, as well as the commercial availability of Gallium Nitride based semiconductors, this is no longer the case. Instead, there are actually significant advantages when using higher frequencies for consumer device electronics. So, what’s holding us back?

The misinformation about frequency

The general perception has been that using a lower frequency will make regulatory approvals easier. This is in fact an industry myth. While regulatory design challenges may differ across frequencies, at 6.78 MHz there is a specially designated industrial scientific medical (ISM) band, meaning that electromagnetic radiated emissions are unlimited at this frequency for designated ISM equipment (such as wireless power systems). Below 6.78 MHz there are no other globally accepted ISM bands to date, indicating further regulatory restrictions may apply to lower frequency consumer wireless power devices.

Another market misconception is that lower frequencies do not have RF exposure concerns or limits as higher frequencies do. Again, this isn’t the case. In an upcoming post we will outline the differences in RF exposure requirements across the various wireless power frequencies – stay tuned.

Time for a new choice

Once we get past the industry misconceptions it’s easier to choose the right frequency for consumer devices moving forward.

If we truly want to have global interoperability for all electronics with wireless power, Qi inductive wireless power transfer simply won’t be enough – 6.78 MHz is necessary to take us to the next level. The reasons for this are relatively simple:

  • Experiential — using magnetic resonance wireless power (MRWP) transfer for consumer devices at 6.78 MHz provides greater spatial freedom. With traditional inductive wireless charging, alignment must be precise in order to facilitate charging – magnetic resonance on the other hand allows a device to move and still keep charging. If you’re charging your phone and you receive a message, for example, the vibration from the message can cause the phone to lose its alignment and to stop charging. This is the same as when you charge your phone while driving and you go over a bump in the road. The bump can cause the phone to lose its alignment and the phone will stop charging. However, with resonant technology (higher frequency) users can move their device or have multiple devices, for example, charging at the same time and the devices will still charge even if they’re displaced. Furthermore, magnetic resonance allows wireless transfer through thick materials such as tables and desktops thus eliminating the need to drill into the surface for a truly wireless experience. This is a huge shift in terms of user experience.
  • Industrial design and form factor — at 6.78 MHz wireless frequency electronics and coils become smaller and thinner in size, providing designers with increased design In addition, high quality coils can be built using ubiquitous flexible printed circuit board materials, and you can bend the material and have different product shapes, e.g. curves. The increased quality factor at the higher frequency also means lower loss in the resonant coils and hence higher coupling efficiencies.
  • Regulatory — 6.78 MHz is the lowest common global frequency, deemed as an ISM frequency by most, if not all, regional regulatory agencies. Global and local regulatory recommendation groups such as the ITU-R1 and Broadband Wireless Forum2, also specifically recommend that wireless power systems for consumer devices use the 6.78 MHz band. Beside the functional benefits afforded at 6.78 MHz, wireless power systems operating at this frequency are much less likely to interfere with licensed radio bands.
  • Safety — the metal object heating caused by magnetic fields at 6.78 MHz is negligible compared to lower frequency wireless power. This means that devices are safer as the frequency doesn’t heat up everyday objects such as keys, coins, etc. that could come in contact with them.

The 6.78 MHz frequency with MRWP therefore provides greater freedom both in terms of design as well as user experience and should no longer be ignored as the number one choice for frequency when developing consumer wireless devices.

Interested in finding out more?

If you’d like to learn more about the frequency choices for wireless power, please email me at: ky.sealy@witricity.com. We’d love to hear from you and to share the work we’re doing to deliver next-generation wireless power.


1 https://www.itu.int/pub/R-REP-SM.2303-2-2017

2 http://www.yrp.co.jp/en/yrprdc/bwf/contents_bwf/files_bwf.html